Please rotate your device to Landscape Mode
David Manica led the schematic design of this project as an employee of HOK Sport (now Populous)
АРЕНА О2 Лондоне
Лондон, Англия
После закрытия Millennium Experience в конце 2000 года, комплекс Millennium Dome поступил в аренду компании Meridian Delta Ltd. в 2001 году, для реконструкции в развлекательный комплекс. Планы также включали постройку внутренней арены.
Строительство арены началось в 2003 году и было закончено в 2007 году. Из-за невозможности использования кранов внутри купола, конструкция кровли арены была построена на земле внутри купола, а затем поднята. Затем вокруг кровли были построены конструкции арены. Здание арены, вмещающее саму арену, вестибюли и все вспомогательные помещения, выполнено независимо от других зданий О2. Все здание арены занимает 
 
около 40% всей конструкции купола. План рассадки на арене может быть изменен, подобно Manchester Evening News Arena. Стадион легко может быть преобразован в каток, баскетбольную площадку, выставочные площади, место для проведения конференций, рабочие места и концертную площадку.
 
Несмотря на то, что O2 Arena открыта всего семь месяцев в году, в 2007 году здесь было продано более 1,2 миллионов билетов, что делает его третьим по популярности местом в мире для проведения концертов и представлений для всей семьи, вслед за MEN Arena (1,25 млн.) и Мэдисон Сквер Гарден в Нью-Йорке (1,23 млн.). В 2008 году стадион стал наиболее загруженным в мире, с объемом продаж более чем два миллиона билетов. 

Дэвид Маника руководил процессом разработки проекта как сотрудник  HOK Sport (сейчас Populous) 
NEXT PROJECT PREVIOUS PROJECT

Please rotate your device to Landscape Mode
David Manica led the schematic design of this project as an employee of HOK Sport (now Populous)
O2 Arena London
London, England
Following the closure of the Millennium Experience at the end of 2000, the Millennium Dome was leased to Meridian Delta Ltd. in 2001, for redevelopment as an entertainment complex. This included plans for an indoor arena.
 
Construction of the arena started in 2003 and finished in 2007. Owing to the impossibility of using cranes inside the dome structure, the arena’s roof was constructed on the ground within the dome and then lifted. The arena building’s structure was then built around the roof. The arena building, which houses the arena and the arena concourse, is independent from all other buildings in The O2 and houses all the arena’s facilities. The whole arena building takes up 40% of the total dome structure.
The seating arrangement throughout the whole arena can be modified, similar to the Manchester Evening News Arena.  The ground surface can also be changed between ice rink, basketball court, exhibition space, conference venue, private hire venue and concert venue.
 
Despite The O2 arena’s being open for only seven months of the year, the venue sold over 1.2 million tickets in 2007, making it the third most popular venue in the world for concerts and family shows narrowly behind the Manchester Evening News Arena (1.25 million) and Madison Square Garden in New York (1.23 million). In 2008, it became the world’s busiest venue taking the crown from Manchester’s MEN Arena with sales of more than two million.

David Manica led the Schematic Design of this project as an employee of HOK Sport (now Populous)
NEXT PROJECT PREVIOUS PROJECT